Literature for homework

I personally have spent a lot of time looking for resources on motorcycle mechanics, but my problem had always been that it is such a large topic, so that dummy newbies like me hardly find their directions on where to start. I only now realize that it takes patience until you have actually gathered enough knowledge to be able to distuingish useful resources, and start puzzling this huge science together.

I have recently been introduced to these books and firmly recommend them as homework: Motorcycle Basics Techbook and Motorcycle Electrical Manual.

Also I find that old mechanic books may help more then a lot. A simple reason for that is that old motorcycles were more user friendly  in terms of maintance. They were more simple, easier to understand. These old handbooks might also have beautiful hand-drawn technical images, which you will never find for new motorcycle models due to their ridiculous complexity.